Listography: Things I Love About My Mom!

In honor of Mother’s Day I want to dedicate this blog post to my beautiful mother. She is more than my mom, she has also been my friend all my life. She had me when she was young (20) and so I’ve always had a youthful, energetic, fun mom – and I love that! And now that I have a child of my own, my mom is also the best “Omi” to my son. She adores Jack and loves to spend as much time with him as she can. She takes care of him like he’s her own. For that I am very grateful. I love watching Jack get to grow up having such a close relationship with my mom. Things like this make my heart happy.

Of course there are unlimited reasons why I love my mom, but here are some of the most important ones:

* My mom is beautiful. She smiles all of the time and she always looks young and fresh.

* My mom is generous. Every time I visit her, I find myself leaving her house with either a bag of food or a 10-Dollar-Bill hidden in my purse or pocket. She can’t not send me home with anything! 🙂 She’s also generous with others. She especially has a soft spot for troubled teens and she often takes them under her wing.

* My mom loves ABBA. You’ll often walk into her house to find that she didn’t hear the door opening because she’s singing along to ABBA songs while doing the housework. Of course if I walk in on this situation I generally just start singing right along with her! 🙂 Me and my mom have been to the Broadway show “Mamma Mia” in both New York and Seattle, and we saw an ABBA tribute concert together and waited by the stage door to meet one of the group members.

* My mom can kick anyone’s butt in Scrabble. Seriously. I dare you to challenge her to a game.

* My mom is a wonderful cook. She doesn’t reference any cookbooks, she just mixes and matches all sorts of random ingredients and calls the finished results her “concoctions.” Her concoctions always turn out delicious.

* My mom was a “wild child” when she was a teenager. I know this for a fact because I once took one of her old journals. Whoa! (When I told her recently that I had it, she said “Oh no, I thought I burned that a long time ago!” :))
When I went through my own wild period during my senior year of high school, my mom didn’t judge me or give me strict curfews, she simply trusted me. She let me go to parties and have freedom, but she always told me that I could call her anytime I needed her, even if it was in the middle of the night. She made me promise to never ride with anyone that was drinking, and reminded me that she would come and get me anytime, anywhere. Though she tried to lead me down the right path, she let me learn from my own mistakes.

* My mom loves gardening. She takes pride in her yard and garden, and it always looks like a park at her house. She loves working outside in the sunshine and talking to her garden gnomes while she does it. And when I come over, she’ll go out and snip some fresh flowers for me, just so I have a pretty bouquet to take home.

* My mom makes every holiday special. For birthdays she decorates a “birthday table” with flowers, presents, and goodies. For Christmas she always has music going, little snowmen everywhere, and so many presents that they swallow up the tree. For almost every holiday she makes a huge turkey or ham for dinner – with her signature mashed potatoes on the side. It doesn’t matter what holiday it is, big or small, she wants her kids to be home with her and she makes it memorable.

* My mom’s eyes get all squinty when she laughs too hard. I LOVE when I can get her to completely lose control and just laugh her head off. I always try to run and get my camera to snap a picture before she stops. 🙂 She looks so pretty when she’s laughing.

* My mom fed my Hanson addiction. And my Moffatts addiction. And every other weird teenage addiction I had. She let me and my cousins dance on her couch to TLC. She let me wallpaper my room with posters of my latest boy band crushes. She bought me numerous binders and packs of sheet protectors so that I could make scrapbooks of those posters. She took a car full of teenage girls on a road-trip to Canada to see a Moffatts concert. She (to this day) lets me blast the Hanson Christmas CD every year on Cookie Day. That’s just how she rolls.

* My mom took me travelling all over the world when I was growing up. She had me bitten by the travel bug. I am an avid traveler and it’s thanks to her. She took me to 22 different states, and a few foreign countries. We also went to Germany every other year, and that’s where my mom is the happiest. Being in Germany brings out all of my mom’s inner joy. She loves being with her cousins, barbecuing out back in the gazebo, walking around Bremen, driving on the autobahn, and going to the safari park. If I could afford to buy my mom a little house on the Brink in Schwanewede, I would do it in a heartbeat. Then I would probably move in with her.

* My mom is a hard worker. She has always been a hard worker, in her home life and her professional life. She doesn’t know how to take a nap in the daytime because she always feels like there is something else she should be doing. She is the head secretary for the high school and the school could not function without her. Everyone relies on her. Everyone at the school loves her and she is every student’s favorite office lady. When I was in school, everyone always told me what an awesome mom I had. My mom was more popular than I was! 🙂

* My mom always tells me how beautiful I am. (Although sometimes when she sees me without makeup she asks me if I’m feeling alright, because I “look a little pale.”) 🙂

* My mom always dreamed of being in the Noxzema commercials. She told me that when she was a teenager she always wanted her and her daughter to be the mother-daughter duo in the Noxzema commercials that she saw on tv. She has used Noxzema for as long as I can remember and her skin still looks great. Plus I will forever associate the smell of Noxzema with my mom.


* My mom loves me “in the whole wide world. She always told me that growing up. Now I tell it to my son. “I love you in the whole wide world.” Special words.

* My mom has a soft heart. She gets teary-eyed easily and I bet that she is crying reading this right now. Don’t worry mom, I got emotional while typing this up too! 🙂

* My mom helped me spread my wings. She encouraged me to get good grades and get scholarships so that I could go to college. When she dropped me off at my dorm room for my first year, I started bawling and wouldn’t let her leave. She started crying too. It was hard for me to fathom the idea that I wouldn’t be seeing my mom every single day anymore. Thank heavens for cell phones.

* My mom is so strong. She was by my side Every.Single.Minute when I was going through all of my medical situations. She slept by my hospital bed countless nights and prayed for me every day. In a span of 7 years I had about 8 surgeries (or more…I’ve lost count) on my neck to remove a tumor (an arterio-venus malformation). My mom never let go of my hand. She took me to every doctor’s appointment, every MRI, every CT Scan, even travelling across the country to meet new doctors. When I was in the hospitals, she started a tradition of buying me a new Beanie Baby for each day that I had to be in there. (My Beanie Baby collection is therefore quite extensive!) I don’t know where I would be right now if it wasn’t for my mom’s love and support during the hardest and scariest years of my life. I am SO blessed to have my mom.

* My mom is the heart of our family. I once read a sign that said “Home is where my mom is” and I can totally relate to that.  I know that I can always go home and she will always be happy to see me.

* My mom taught me to be a great mother. My mom has always been very loving and affectionate. She’s not afraid to hug, kiss, and cuddle. There is nothing as important as that. I’ve seen families that have plenty of money, but no affection. I can’t imagine growing up in a cold environment like that. We didn’t have a lot of money growing up, but there was never a shortage of love.

I love my mom so much and I thank God for her every day.

She is a daughter, sister, grandmother, wife, friend…but for me, I have the blessing of calling her mom. Happy Mother’s Day.

“There is no way to be a perfect mother, but a million ways to be a great one.”

May 13, 2012. Listography.

5 Comments

  1. Veronica Streater replied:

    I agree with every word!! That is beautifully written Nikki! And as I was reading it, had So many good memories to be reminded of. Your mom ISSS the greatest!!

  2. Christina replied:

    That is totally awesome and so special! Happy Mother’s Day!

  3. Mom replied:

    OK Mauschen, now I am totally blubbering and so grateful for you. There is not a card in the world that could compare to this rollicking tribute, and you didn’t leave out anything; what a good writer! Happy Mother’s Day to you too; you are such a good mommy to Jack and now I have the joy of watching this and being a part of it, and I do love you both so much. I love you in the whole wide world! 🙂

  4. gellybelly replied:

    Your mom is the best! I love this post – all of it’s very true. Wonderful!!!

  5. Ronnie replied:

    OK this popped up and here I am blubbering again ! I love this Nikki, and I love you, so much. Happy Mother’s Day Mauschen!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

