St. Patrick’s Day Shenanigans!

How lucky that St. Patrick’s Day fell on a Saturday this year! That’s practically begging me to host a little get-together at my house!

I made an “official” Facebook invitation/event page about 2 months beforehand…my brother thought I was completely insane for doing it that early…but I thought it was perfectly reasonable. I needed people to write my name on their calendar before someone else snatched them up for the green holiday! And I got to prove to my brother that I was NOT crazy when one of my friends told me, “Sorry, I’ve had plans for St. Patrick’s Day since last November!” SEE? People make plans early! (To be fair, my friend’s plan involved going to the Broadway show “Wicked” – totally appropriate since the main character is a green witch).  🙂

Anyway, this particular party was an “adult” party (i.e. there would be alcohol), so Jack stayed the night at his Omi’s house (we are German and so my son calls his grandma “Omi”). The night before, I decorated the house and went grocery shopping for all of the food that I would prepare. I love the preparation and anticipation of the event as much as I love the event itself!

Here are some cheap decorations that I got at Dollar Tree. It’s so funny because if you look closely at the banner, you can see that that there’s something wrong with it – that’s what I get for getting it for only a buck!

Before he left for Omi’s house, Jack helped me make some green cupcakes. He loves mixing batter…and he also loves to lick the bowl when it’s all said and done!

The batter looks like that green slime from the old Nickelodeon shows!

Fresh out of the oven!

Anyway, for the get-together I had planned on a dinner & game night, with some green drinks. For dinner I made a crock pot full of chili and put out trays of different toppings, so that everyone could customize their chili to their liking. Sour cream, olives, tomatoes, avocado, chips, cheddar cheese, onions, green onions, and cornbread on the side. Trust me, this is the only way to do a chili dinner! Everyone loves it. I learned this from my mother-in-law, who makes what she calls “5-way chili” every New Year’s Eve. (At this party, it was more like 8-way chili due to a few extra toppings).

Here’s how the table looked with some of the food on it. I put all of the toppings into 2 muffin pans for ease of clean-up. The cornbread muffins are on a plate to the left.

Here’s a photo of the complete mantel/table. I put cute little leprechaun window clings on the mirror, and then green tinsel and a subway art print (from Pinterest) framed in the middle.

Close-Up of the printable:

Click Here for a link to the Subway Art Printable.

Other foods that I made for the party were:
*Green deviled eggs – with Avocado! (I didn’t really use a recipe, I just added a smashed up avocado into my regular mixture of egg yolk and mayo and stuff…but for those of you who would like a recipe, I found one here).
*A green veggie tray with green ranch to dip, a platter of dipped strawberries (dipped in chocolate, green candy melts, and chocolate rolled in chopped pistachios)
*Chips with green (tomatillo) salsa
*Green candy-dipped pretzel rods. (The pretzel rods can be seen in the above picture, on the back of the table).

Now for some drinks! My husband went out and bought a few different liquors and mixers that were green. He also bought light beer so that we could dye it green. We even had a green pitcher to put it in! Here’s a picture of Brady pouring himself a nice green beer!

Here’s our little drink table. I made green Jell-O shots, and we even had a Roulette game for green shots. In the shot glasses we made mini Midori Sours, Green Apple mixed with Sierra Mist, and some other random combinations. Spin the wheel and you never know which drink you’ll get…but rest assured, they’re all delicious!

All of the guests that came over had to wear lots of green – the sillier the better (notice my wig?) and get their picture taken by “Lucky” the Leprechaun…and if anyone didn’t wear green (or enough green for my taste!) they had to wear a mini green hat for the night!

Here’s me and Brady, followed by a picture of our little guy, Jack:

Here’s a group shot:

After we all had our fill of chili and drinks, it was my favorite part of the night: Dessert! If the cupcakes and dipped pretzels and dipped strawberries weren’t enough, I also had an Ice-Cream Buffet. Chocolate and Vanilla ice cream, with all different toppings to choose from. Bananas, strawberries in syrup, maraschino cherries, whipped cream, mini M&Ms, Nestle Buncha Crunch, chocolate syrup, chopped walnuts, sprinkles…you name it! Here’s a picture of the deliciousness:

After dessert we all sat around and played board games and laughed the night away! All in all, it was a wonderful evening. Thanks to everyone who came and made it special!

P.S. If anyone out there hasn’t played the game “Blokus” or the game “Ticket to Ride” – you really have to try them. They are phenomenal! And always a big hit with every guest that we play them with! (Pictured above is Blokus)

March 27, 2012. Holidays, Parties.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

