23 Things That I Want Jack To Know

1 Samuel 1:27 – “I prayed for this child, and the Lord has granted me what I asked of Him.”

There are so many good “Mommy Moments.” Some of these include:

  • Looking at Jack and realizing how lucky I am and what a blessing he is in my life.
  • When I get hugs and kisses and the sweetest giggles from too many tickles.
  • Getting to watch Jack grow and thank God for his health and cherish the milestones that he reaches everyday.
  • When I cuddle him on the rocking chair every night before bed and we say our prayer and sing our songs.

Jack is only two years old, but he’s growing up so fast. It makes me happy and sad at the same time. Happy that he’s learning and thriving, but not so happy that I can’t just push the “pause” button and enjoy each of his stages a little longer. He makes me laugh everyday. He is handsome, smart, funny, and cute. Even though my living room looks like Toys ‘R Us and I’m currently drowning in a sea of Buzz Lightyears, Tow-Maters, and fruit snacks, I wouldn’t trade it for anything.

I love Jack so much. There is nothing in this world I would not do for him. I will kiss his ow-ies and wipe his tears. I will sing silly songs, read him books, feed him healthy food, teach him all of the important things of life, and I will protect him and fight for him and give up my life for him. As he grows up and gains more independence, I know it will get harder for me to let him go…and I’m absolutely positive that when he gets on the big yellow bus for his first day of kindergarten, I will cry.

As you grow up Jack, here are some things I want you to know:

  1. When I look at you, I see my heart walking around outside of my body. I never imagined that I had this much love to give until I had you. You taught me that my heart and my capacity to love is not fixed, it grows and grows and grows.
  2. Enjoy your childhood. You will be an adult soon enough, with too many responsibilities.
  3. The world is full of superficial values, peer pressure, materialism, and bullying. Don’t buy into it. Family, Love, and Jesus are always true.
  4. Never be ashamed of being smart or nerdy, having freckles or glasses, or loving school. Smart never goes out of style. It stays with you as you grow, and it will lead you down the most successful paths.
  5. You don’t have to follow all of the trends. Be confident going against the grain. Accept yourself for who you are. You are one-of-a-kind and that’s what makes you amazing. We are all different. God made you just how he wanted you, and God doesn’t make mistakes.
  6. Accept others for who they are. In a world where bullying is so popular with our youth, accept everyone’s differences. Preps, punks, popular, nerds, jocks…it doesn’t matter.
  7. Make a few true close friends. True friends are invaluable. They are loyal and will stick with you through good times and bad, happy or sad. Some friends come and go, but true friends will be with you always. Friends forever, through whatever.
  8. Give thanks to God for everything. Especially when you feel down, praise God. There is a reason for everything, and God has a special plan for you.
  9. Choose your role-models carefully.
  10. Read everyday. Reading expands your knowledge and vocabulary, and lets your imagination run wild.
  11. Read your Bible every day too. It keeps you connected to God and reminds you how to stay on the narrow path.
  12. Explore the outdoors. Go outside, breathe the fresh air. Ride bikes, build forts, skip, hop, run, climb.
  13. See the world. Travel, travel, travel. Experience new cultures, foods, and people. Open your heart to all of your new experiences and learn something from each one. Bon Voyage.
  14. Love the Earth. Recycle, reduce, reuse. Going “green” isn’t a trend. It’s a way of life we should all adopt.
  15. Always take care of your health. Your body is a temple. Make healthy lifestyle choices to take care of your physical, mental, social, emotional, and spiritual well being. This has a huge impact on your quality of life and your happiness.
  16. Have confidence in yourself. Have a strong hand-shake and make eye-contact with people. Be friendly, trustworthy, and honest.
  17. Love with all your heart. Show love to everyone. Love is universal.
  18. It’s okay to cry. Crying is a natural emotional response to feelings. Everyone cries. Men cry. Women cry. Children cry.
  19. Don’t be afraid to laugh at yourself and don’t be discouraged by your mistakes. Let it inspire and motivate you to do better next time. Always be proud of who you are.
  20. Try to always make the right choices, not the easiest ones. Have the courage to lead, not follow. Dream bigger than most others think is possible.
  21. Find your passion. Keep looking and searching, never stop.
  22. You will be my son forever. There is an old saying that says “A son is a son till he takes a wife…” As you grow, I pray that our bond stays strong enough to break any truth this saying might hold.
  23. Wherever you are in life, you can come home. I will be here – always.
February 17, 2012. Jack.

3 Comments

  1. Ronnie Rauth Larson replied:

    OMGoodness this brings tears to my eyes! So well written Nikki, and truly what I wish for all of my children as well. You are such a good mommy and I love you and Jack so much!!!

  2. Gelly replied:

    Oh this is so sweet! I love it!!!

  3. Lori Piciocchi Ziesel replied:

    Beautifully said. My sons are 17 and 15…there are times I wish they were little just once more, but I do so enjoy the wonderful young men they’ve become. Savor every minute!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

