Gingerbread House Decorating Party

So it’s February now and I’m finally sitting down and getting caught up on my blog…on stuff from December! Oh wow…I really don’t have any good excuses. But I’m glad that I’m back on board now.

I had a gingerbread party at my house and it was a smashing success. First of all, my cousin was SUCH a huge help to me. I couldn’t afford to go out and buy a pre-baked gingerbread house for each of my guests, so she came over a couple days before the party and helped me bake, cut, and assemble 8 houses, plus 4 small ones for the children. This was the first time that either of us had made gingerbread before, and it was a lot of fun and tasty too. Overall, a good experience. But to be honest, next year I will be using the pre-baked ones. I went to the after-Christmas sales and snatched up 8 of them, for only $3 each. Nobody eats them anyway, they’re just for decoration…so who cares if they’re stale? šŸ˜‰

Jack wanted to help too, of course:

And when we were done, we had 8 of these:

On the day of the party, I set up the table with each place setting having a house, a plastic wine glass, and a mini personal bottle of Martinelli’s Sparkling Cider. All of the candies and frostings were in the middle of the table.

Here’s how the kids’ table looked:

And of course, we had to have some good snacks to counteract all of the candy that would surely be making its way into our mouths…! The gingerbread shaped sandwiches were pb&j for the kids. The bowl in the middle is a delicious dip of cream cheese with Trader Joe’s Sweet Chili Sauce poured over the top. It’s PERFECT with pita chips…a crowd favorite!

Everyone had a fun time decorating their gingerbread houses and afterward, I took a picture of each person holding their completed house.

After everyone was done decorating, we cleared off the table and played some BINGO! I had wrapped up some small Christmas-y prizes and played Bingo using the leftover candies as markers. Everyone got to take home a decorated house and some prizes. It was a wonderful evening!

February 15, 2012. Baking Adventures, Food, Holidays, Parties.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

