Autumn Shindig!

Last weekend we had a fun get-together at my friend Sarah’s house. We called it the “Autumn Shindig” because it was a mix of all Autumn events…Halloween, Octoberfest, Thanksgiving, etc. We had a delicious dinner together, tried different beers and ciders, and played board games. The winners of the games even got prizes – it was a lot of fun.

My task was to bring a snack and a dessert. For the snack, to keep with the theme, I decided to make a spiderweb layer dip. It is super easy and delicious! I put the sour cream in a squeeze bottle and drew a spiderweb with it. Then for the spiders, I just used olives! (Since I didn’t use the whole can of olives, I just brought the extras with me for people to eat seperate).

For the dessert, I also wanted to stick with the Autumn theme, so I made Pumpkin Cupcakes. This is the easiest recipe in the world – just 2 ingredients! All you do is mix a box of yellow cake mix with a 15oz. can of pumpkin! That’s it – no eggs, water, or oil. Just the cake mix and the pumpkin. The batter is thick, more like a muffin batter. Bake them like you would bake a regular cupcake, at 350 degrees for about 20-25 minutes, and they come out moist, rich, and delicious. I put a little bit of cream cheese frosting on the top, and everyone LOVED them!

Here is our lovely hostess, Sarah…followed by a group shot. It was a fun evening!

October 23, 2011. Baking Adventures, Food.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

